Teaching themes

 Our themes for our Readings and Teaching Sunday by Sunday:

Week commencing

Sunday                     

Theme

During the first part of the Trinity Season we are reflecting on Christian Leadership
Sunday 3rd June First Sunday after Trinity Theme: “1: Seeing gifts in God’s imperfect people.”
Epistle:   1 Corinthinans, Ch. 1, vs. 1 – 9;
Gospel:    Mark Ch 2, vs. 23 – Ch. 3, vs. 6.
Sunday 10th June Second Sunday after Trinity Theme:2: Unity in the midst of division.
Epistle:   1 Corinthinans, Ch. 1, vs. 10 – 17;
Gospel:    Mark, Ch. 3, vs. 20 – 35.
Sunday 17th June Third Sunday after Trinity Theme: “3: Finding power in weakness.”
Epistle:   1 Corinthinans, Ch. 1, vs. 18 – 25;
Gospel:   Mark, Ch. 4, vs. 26 – 34.
Sunday 24th June Fourth Sunday after Trinity Theme: “4: Placing confidence in Christ.”
Epistle:   1 Corinthians, Ch. 1, vs. 26 – Ch. 2, vs. 5.
Gospel:   Mark, Ch. 4, vs. 35 – end.
Sunday 1st July Fifth Sunday after Trinity Theme: “5: Being led by the Spirit.”
Epistle:   1 Corinthians, Ch 2, vs.  – 16;
Gospel:   Mark, Ch. 5, vs. 21 – 43.
Sunday 8th July Sixth Sunday after Trinity Theme: “6: Moving towards maturity.”
Epistle:   1 Corinthians, Ch 3, vs. 1 – 9;
Gospel:   Mark, Ch. 6, vs. 1 – 13.
Sunday 15th July Seventh Sunday after Trinity Theme: “7:  Leading in ways that last”.
Epistle:  1 Corinthians, Ch. 3, vs. 10 – 23;
Gospel:   Mark, Ch. 6, vs. 14 – 29.
Sunday 22nd July Eighth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “8:  Keeping a Clear Conscience”
Epistle:  1 Corinthians, Ch. 4, vs. 1 – 7;
Gospel:  Mark, Ch. 6, vs. 30 – 34 & 53 – 56.
Sunday 29th July Ninth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “9:  Cultivating a gentle spirit”
Epistle:  1 Corinthians, Ch. 4, vs. 8 – 21;
Gospel:  John, Ch. 6, vs. 1 – 21.
For the remainder of the summer we extend our focus to consider Leaders in the Bible.
     
Sunday 5th August Tenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “10:  The Lord looks at the heart”
Epistle:  1 Samuel, Ch. 16, vs. 1 – 13;
Gospel:  John, Ch. 6, vs. 24 – 35.
Sunday 12th August Eleventh Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “11:  The Battle is the Lord’s”
Epistle:  1 Samuel, Ch. 17, vs. 20 – 40;
Gospel:  John, Ch. 6, vs. 41 – 51.
Sunday 19th August Twelfth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “12:  True Friendship”
Epistle:  1 Samuel, Ch. 20, vs. 27 – end;
Gospel:  John, Ch. 6, vs. 51 – 58.
Sunday 26th August Thirteenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “13:  A matter of conscience”
Epistle:  1 Samuel, Ch. 24, vs. 1 – 15;
Gospel:  John, Ch. 6, vs. 56 – 69.
 
Sunday 2nd September Fourteenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “14:  Secure in the Lord”
Epistle:  1 Samuel, Ch. 25, vs. 14 – 26;
Gospel:  Matthew, Ch. 25, vs. 14 – 30.
 
Sunday 9th September Fifteenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “15:  Finding Strength in the Lord”
Epistle:  1 Samuel, Ch. 30, vs. 3 – 25;
Gospel:  Mark, Ch. 7, vs. 24 – 30.
 
Sunday 16th September Sixteenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “16:  God’s Judgement and Blessing”
Epistle:  2 Samuel, Ch. 6, vs. 6 – 16;
Gospel:  Mark, Ch. 8, vs. 27 – end.
 
Sunday 23rd September Seventeenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “17:  God’s Promise to David”
Epistle:  2 Samuel, Ch. 7, vs. 1 – 17;
Gospel:  Mark. Ch. 9, vs. 30 – 37.
 
Sunday 30th September Eighteenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “18:  Facing Temptation”
Epistle:  Psalm 95, vs. 1 – 7;
Gospel:  John, Ch. 4, vs. 4 – 24.
 
Sunday 7th October Nineteenth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “Harvest Thanksgiving”
Harvest Thanksgiving Epistle:  ;
Gospel:  .
Old Testament Reading: Taken from Book of Ruth
 
Sunday 14th October Twentieth Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “19:  God’s severe mercy”
Epistle:  2 Samuel, Ch. 11, vs. 26 -27  & Ch. 12, vs. 1 – 14;
Gospel:  Mark, Ch. 10, vs. 17 – 31.
 
Sunday 21st October Twenty-first Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “20: Misplaced trust”
Epistle:  1 Chronicles, Ch. 21, vs. 1 – 3, 7 – 9, 24 – Ch. 22, vs. 1.;
Gospel:  Mark, Ch. 10, vs. 35 – 45.
 
Sunday 28th October Twenty-second Sunday after Trinity Theme:  “21: Generous giving”
Epistle:  .;
Gospel:  ..
 …………………………….  ………………………..